img description img description

Labour Students

Campaigning for the Labour Party on campus and across Wales since 2007!


  • Labour Students Standard Membership£3.00
  • Labour Students Associate Membership£3.00

About Us

Winners of the 2022/23 Student Union Award for Campaign of the Year!

Who are we:

Swansea Labour Students is a student society affiliated to the Welsh Labour Party and the Co-operative Party. As a group, we campaign for progressive values anywhere and everywhere we can alongside hosting a wide range of socials and events, the details of which will all be posted on our Instagram and Student Union page. We are proud to be a broad-church society and we welcome people of all progressive traditions as well as those who are just looking to have a bit of fun.

What we do:

  • Regular campaigning sessions for local politicians and campaigns, helping us contribute to Labour’s retention of the Swansea City Council in 2022.
  • Supporting protests and strike action, and campaigning for progressive values wherever possible. Important voice of support for the UCU in recent marking boycotts and strikes.
  • Regular talks and panel events with charities, organisations and politicians (local, regional and national). Recent guests have included MS’s Mark Drakeford, Julie James, Rebecca Evans and Sarah Murphy, MP’s John McDonnell and Beth Winter, and City Council Leader Rob Stewart.
  • Regular socials, both sober and non-sober – pub quizzes and crawls, bowling and mini golf, and regular karaoke nights at JCs.
  • Semi-regular trips such as visits to the Senedd in Cardiff, meetups with other University Labour Societies, and the yearly Welsh Labour conference in Llandudno.

Whether you want to network, fight for some great causes, learn the ins and outs of political campaigning, or just make friends, SLS is the society for you!

Your committee for 2023/24:

Chair: Rhiannon Hazell
Secretary: Louis Carpenter
Treasurer: Gwen Owen
Social Secretary: James Wynne-Ferguson
Vice-Chair: James Wynne-Ferguson
Communication Officer: Jamie Cox
Welfare Officer: Jamie Cox
Campaigns and Membership Officer: Mike Unsworth
Disabilities Officer: Joshua Green
LGBT+ Officer: Jonathan Tate
Women's Officer: Amy Lucas
BAME Officer: Vacant
Freshers Officer: Vacant

How to get involved:

Follow us on Instagram: @swansea_labour_students
Follow us on Twitter: @SwanLabStudents
Join our Facebook group: Click Here
Join our Mailing list: Click Here
We are hoping to fill our vacant committee roles in upcoming elections, so keep an eye out for those if you want to get even more involved!


Campaigns Officer
Michael Unsworth
Communications Officer
Jamie Cox
Disabilities Officer
Joshua Green
President (Chair)
Rhiannon Hazell
Louis Carpenter
Social Secretary
Travis McDonagh
Gwen Owen
James Wynne-Ferguson
Welfare Officer
Jamie Cox
Womens Officer
Amy Lucas


Labour Students CLP Christmas Party
14th December 7pm - 11pm
Morriston Rugby Club, Heol Gwernen, Cwmrhydyceirw, Swansea SA6 6JS
We will be joining the CLP for their Christmas Party! Follow the link to buy your ticket, which includes a buffet.